Gaming Resolutions – August

July was a busy month, with RUTHCon II planning taking away from my gaming time; a sacrifice that was worth it given the amount of gaming that happened during the weekend itself.

Publish at least 2 blog posts a week

I’ve been making an effort to post more, but things really started to slide over the last month and I did not succeed on this one. But I have a few things in the pipeline for the blog that should lead to more consistent content, and some different content that will hopefully still be interesting.

Play games more than once

More SeaFall, and another Roll Player game helped me continue progressing on my 10×10 challenge. However, I had hoped to get more progress made during RUTHCon II and that just didn’t happen. Plus I’m running out of time and there’s a lot of big games on there that still need played, some for the first time within the challenge. The result of this is that I may end up rejigging the games included to have some more shorter titles on there, but I haven’t decided yet. If I do, I’ll detail the changes in a future post.

In terms of non 10×10 games; I’ve played Barenpark 4 times since I got it at RUTHCon and NMBR9 was played three times. Dice Forge has gotten a good amount of play also.

Play at least 3 unplayed games from my collection each month

I learned Yamatai at RUTHCon and then played my copy again a few nights later with Kit. I did only pick it up in June, but it still counts. I also finally got to learn and play my deluxe version of Yokohama thanks to Eric Booth, and it was just as good as I had hoped. I can’t wait to play it more and see how much better I can do on repeated play.

In terms of games I’d already played but that my copy was still unplayed, I played Ginkgopolis at RUTHCon, and had solo-d La Granja: No Siesta a few days prior. Thus, I more than fulfilled this resolution during the last month and can hopefully continue to get some more great games off of “the list”.

Update BGG collection & ensure all changes are made by the end of the month

I narrowly missed this one in July as I made all my updates on August 1st, including posting my collection update. this was due to working all day on the 31st, but that’s really no excuse as I could have had it done during the 3 days prior which I did have off.

Leave a Reply

