The Five By – The Games of Episode 4

This week is a really good one in terms of the games covered on the show. After all, the worst I can say about any of them is that I enjoyed my one play of it. None of the games we discussed are games I’d turn down an opportunity to play, despite the fact that they’re all very different from each other. As always, check out the latest episode of The Five By, then scroll down to see my thoughts on all of the games, not just the title featured in my segment. For more info on any games featured on the show, you can also check out this geeklist on BGG which collects all of them in one place.

00:42 Ruth – Herbaceous

It’s gorgeous, it’s an unusual theme, it’s quick to learn & play, and the creators are some of the nicest people in board-gaming. I talked about this game during its Kickstarter campaign, and discussed the art during my 12 Lists of Christmas series before it even showed up at my door, so I obviously had to talk about it on The Five By now that it’s at last in my possession.

6c27985b-6d7f-4b3b-9f6e-b08ae893d9d1

05:07 Stephanie – KUNE v LAKIA: A Chronicle of a Royal Lapine Divorce Foretold

Firstly, this game has the greatest subtitle in gaming in my opinion. Secondly, the theme is amazing – it’s about dividing up assets following a bunny divorce, and not just any bunny divorce, but a royal one! I haven’t played Kune v Lakia but man do I want to hunt down a copy after listening to Stephanie, even if it’s just to have those ridiculously-cute-even-when-scowling royal rabbits sitting on my gaming shelf.

09:34 Lindsay – The Gallerist

This is a stunningly gorgeous game themed around running an art gallery while looking for new artists in the hope of discovering the next star and profiting accordingly. As isn’t uncommon for a Lacerda design, The Gallerist is complex and tricky to teach, but well worth the time and effort to get to know – my only regret is that I don’t get my copy played nearly as often as I would like.

14:44 Mason – Nations

I’ve only played Nations once, and it was a while ago, but I remember enjoying it. The art could use an update/revamp but the game itself is a really solid civilization builder that plays relatively quickly. Listening to Mason had me wanting another play so I might just have to request it for an upcoming game day/night.

19:42 Mike – Jaipur

Jaipur is one of my favourite two-player games, and it’s one that’s been in my collection for a good while now. We even carried it with us on our honeymoon touring various Tayside whiskey distilleries, and it was a welcome addition to evenings spent in a fantastic Highland pub. The game features interesting decisions and a perfectly tense back and forth between the players as they vie for the best goods, and the largest herd of camels.

img_8467

Leave a Reply

