Kickstarter Notes – March 2017

I’m still not backing a ton of Kickstarter projects, but I do find myself browsing the app every now and again to see what’s out there in the world of crowd-funding. Here’s a few projects that have caught my eye recently, a few of which I’ve actually backed, arranged in order of end date. Most are gaming related this time, but there’s a little bit of variety in there.

Food Truck Champion (ends Mar 15th)

This is one of the projects I’m currently backing on Kickstarter, and I threw in the extra $4 for the Deluxe version in order to get the mini expansion and chef’s knife token. It’s a great theme, the art is beautiful, and just look at those multi-use cards and how they can be beautifully organized using playerboards to help players keep straight what each card is currently representing. I’m a little nervous about the addition of backer portraits as that can be time-consuming, but I trust Daily Magic Games and they appear to have set deadlines to prevent this pledge level from causing to many problems.

72c1a05773125910bd273c1622d77683_original

Femme Magnifique (ends Mar 16)

Femme Magnifique is a graphic novel anthology celebrating women who’ve achieved great things by having their stories told and illustrated by some pretty amazing talent. Featured women include Sally Ride, Rosalind Franklin, MIchelle Obama, Hedy Lamar, Misty Copeland, and many, many more, and their stories are being told by some of my favourite writers and artists in comics today (Kelly Sue DeConnick! Marguerite Bennett! Jen Bartel! Ming Doyle! Brian Miller! It’s going to be amazing and I can’t wait to actually have it in my grubby little paws. My only regret is not being able to justify getting all the things, as the campaign offers all kinds of goodies along with the book like enamel pins, t-shirts, and embroidered patches featuring their kick-ass logo.

5c16655ca3870cb8ef2c567a01b841bd_original

Familiar Feelings Enamel Pins (ends Mar 19)

I’ve been becoming obsessed with enamel pins recently and the only thing stopping me from backing ALL of them is that I have no idea what to do with them. But these pins featuring traditional witch familiars armed with knives are super hard to resist – they’re just so good. I love everything about them, and while my wallet is screaming “no”, I can’t help myself from checking back with the campaign every few days just to look.

16b493805d4ec3f616dfaf6a0e7aac1a_original

Solstice: Drafting and Deception for 2-4 (ends Mar 24th)

Grant Rodiek has been creating some amazing small-run games in between designing larger scale games like Cry Havoc (which I will finally get to play this Thursday!). Solstice is a drafting game inspired by Frank Herbert’s Dune that features bluffing and blind-bidding as factions vie for control while attempted to only reveal the tiniest bits of information to their opponents. Like any drafting game, it rewards multiple plays and can seem daunting at first, but if players are willing to put in the time, Solstice provides a rich, rewarding experience. I played an early copy of the game, and can’t wait to see what it’s become. Plus the art by John Ariosa is just phenomenal!

37f46bb5704179f5f6ebf8ec2d3ba163_original

Dubai: Rebuild the Ruins (ends Mar 24)

This worker rotation game from Greater than Games sounds fascinating, and the art is pretty stunning. Plus it has tile-laying, and I tend to enjoy when that’s done well as part of a larger game. It’s expensive and rightfully so, which keeps it out of my reach for now, but I’m really hoping someone local backs so that I get to enjoy the unusual theme and tremendous world-building. The GTG team has reportedly gone the extra mile to ensure the project is culturally appropriate, even consulting an Arab linguist to “sanity check” the game during development.

dubai20release20image20-20fb

Dinosaur Island (ends Mar 25th)

There are 2 reasons I’m not backing this amazing sounding game – the price (ouch) and the lack of feathers (disappointing). But it hurts not to back, as this game is literally the game of my dreams – as in, I had a super vivid dream about playing a game like this roughly a year ago, and was shocked and delighted to see it materialize on Kickstarter as though plucked out of my subconscious. It’s sound super fun but the campaign page had a few missteps for me personally, and so I’ll be passing on this game even it did on the surface seem to be made for me. That being said, it’s absolutely worth checking out if it sounds interesting, and the 90’s aesthetic is certainly… something.

dd0d3f075207f712b362c7720ca90e3c_original

Leave a Reply

