Gaming Resolutions – March

Making myself revisit my gaming resolutions last month worked really well for keeping me motivated, and so I’m planning to check in on them around the 7th of every month in an effort to keep myself going. So how did the last month go?

Publish at least 2 blog posts a week

Once again, I started strong and published roughly 2-3 times a week, before randomly ending up with a week-long break partway through the month. Maybe one day I’ll write a resolutions update with this one being successful…

Play games more than once

My 10×10 challenge continues with my getting a few more plays to get to 16 sessions logged. I also added an 8th game to the challenge – The Colonists – so only have a couple of spots to fill.

img_8900

In terms of the games, I haven’t played Star Wars Destiny since the challenge began; I’d assumed it’d be an easy one to get in but I got super intimidated by the deckbuilding and playing people with more experience and let it sit ignored instead. Hopefully Kit might be up for trying it out so we could learn & explore the system together. Our SeaFall campaign ended up on a slight hiatus due to scheduling issues, but we play again this week, so that should help me start racking up some plays again. I need to remember the challenge exists when grabbing games to play, as I only ever seem to realize later that I had an opportunity to get another play checked off.

img_8834

Play at least 3 unplayed games from my collection each month

I played a good amount of unplayed games in February, but most of them were games I also obtained in February, making them ineligible for this resolution. In terms of games owned prior to the month that finally got played, I got my copies of Dominant Species, In the Year of the Dragon, & Avenue played, and so got 3 titles checked off. Of the three, only Avenue was also learned during February; the others are two of my favourite games, it’s just always been the case that I’ve played someone else’s copy.

img_8809

Update BGG collection & ensure all changes are made by the end of the month

Well, I still haven’t tackled the major update on BGG but I did manage once again to have all new additions to my game shelves added on BGG by the end of the month. It probably helps that since I post monthly collection updates on here, I can just run down the list and make the updates in one go.

Leave a Reply

