PrezCon – Getting Ready for CVA

Last year I attended my first PrezCon Winter Nationals at the Hilton Doubletree in Charlottesville, VA. It’s a seven(!)-day gaming convention, primarily based around tournaments, but with plenty of open gaming also available. This year I’ll be attending Thursday through Sunday morning, as I figured taking time off work to attend the entire week was a little much, especially given the number of gaming related trips I’m planning to take this year.

I originally swithered over getting a full Tournament badge, but since I won’t arrive until after many of the first rounds have been completed, I decided to save a few bucks and just get an Open Gaming badge instead. I did the Open Gaming-only badge last year, and didn’t feel like I missed out on too much. I’m also saving cash by sharing a room with Jessica which is very weird for me – I’m usually pretty big on having my own room to escape to at cons, but I’ve roomed with Jessica in the past and have zero concerns about sharing with her.

img_5777

One of the things I really enjoyed about PrezCon is that, despite the fact that it’s decently sized & takes over the whole hotel, it feels super low-key and chill. Last year I made sure to take a few moments during the con to go grab a glass of wine in the bar and relax, either over lunch or with a book, and I didn’t feel like I was missing out by not packing every waking moment. Plus the vendors only set-up for a limited time meaning that it tends to also be a less expensive experience overall … says the woman who bought games there last year.

img_5773

I do need to figure out which games to take with me – Dominant Species, First Class, and The Oracle of Delphi are no-brainers to include, but I’ve been struggling to decide what else. It’s an interesting con as there seems to be more classic games on the tables than I’m used to; for example, last year I got in plays of Stone Age, San Juan, and Acquire among others. This reduced emphasis on recent releases leads to an interesting mix of titles being played and provides an opportunity to learn some classic games I’ve somehow managed to miss trying.

img_5763

Leave a Reply

