TBGT 2016 Part 1: The Lists

My previous TBGT post focused on what the event is, and why I attend. This one is more about my preparations for the event, and my plans once I get there.

This Year’s Stack


I always try to take a selection of games that are either new or don’t get played enough. Of note however, the TBGT site has a database where attendees can mark what they’re bringing, so my initial list was adjusted to remove games that a bunch of others are planning to bring and to add a few games people had marked as wanting to play, but that weren’t being brought by anyone so far. This year, I’m packing up the following to take to the event:

  • Amerigo
  • Arboretum
  • The Capitols
  • The Gallerist
  • Grand Austria Hotel
  • My Village
  • The Networks
  • Notre Dame
  • Roll for the Galaxy + Ambition
  • Sanssouci
  • Seeland
  • Shakespeare
  • Star Wars Rebellion
  • Terra Mystica
  • Tajemnicze Domostwo
  • Via Nebula


My Must-Do Items

Every year, we end up playing a 6-player game of The Pillars of the Earth with the expansion, starting at midnight. It’s a tradition at this point, and I’d be extremely upset if it didn’t happen again. Pillars is a fantastic worker placement game, and it’s always fun when we can grab at least one new player and share the awesome.

img_4864

I’ll be participating in the Flea Market again on Saturday. I’m hoping to get rid of some games that don’t ever get to the table, and maybe snag a deal or two on something new to try out. Last year was the first year I put items up for sale, and I was able to get a decent amount sold, so I’m hoping 2016 is the same. I might also be taking some games to sell on behalf of locals who won’t be at the event, so this year I will have to be a little more organized from a logistical standpoint.

Other Games I’m Hoping to Play

Mansions of Madness, Second Edition! A few weeks ago, Burke posted that he was  priming his copy for paint, so not only am I hoping he’ll teach me the game, but I may even get to play with some super-nice painted minis. I did just recently buy a copy at a deep discount, but I’d love to experience it with him at the con.

Battlestar Galactica is a game I’ve never played and despite a few tries, I haven’t quite managed to arrange a session. An event like TBGT is ideal for longer games, so hopefully I can get it played with a good group of players/toasters.

Other games I’d like to play during the event include:

  • Drum Roll
  • The Gallerist
  • Star Wars Rebellion
  • Terra Mystica
  • Terraforming Mars

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

